#BookBlitz: Cross Your Heart by Kierney Scott @Kierney_S @bookouture #Review

Cross Your Heart - Kierney Scott

I’m super pleased to welcome you to my stop on the book blitz for Cross Your Heart by Kierney Scott. This is a mega blitz so check out some of the other stops all listed on the banner below.

Cross Your Heart is the second book in the Detective Jessica Bishop series, if you missed my review of the first book Forget Me Not check it out here.

Description

Blinking her eyes open, she looks around the room, taking in the bed and the wardrobe full of clothes she’s never seen before. This isn’t her bedroom. Those aren’t her clothes. She begins to cry as she wonders if she’ll ever see her own home again.

Three young girls are missing. All of them cold cases. All of them forgotten. But when Detective Jess Bishop identifies a disturbing link between them, she’s determined to find out what happened, and fights to re-open their cases.

At the scene of each abduction the kidnapper left a clue – a small bag of candy – in place of the missing child.

And then a fourth child is taken. Eight-year-old Ava is snatched from her hospital bed and when a bag of candy is found in her room, Jessica knows it’s the same kidnapper.

As the pressure to solve the case pushes Jess and her team to breaking point, Jess takes a personal risk she fears she’ll live to regret. But she has no choice.

Out of hospital, Ava can only get sicker: Jess is running out of time. Can she find Ava before it’s too late?

An absolutely gripping thriller that will have your pulse racing. Cross Your Heart is perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner. Cross Your Heart - Blitz Banner

Review

I rarely read this genre, I’m happy to put my hands up and say it scares the bejeezus out of me so I’m happy not to subject myself to it too often. I make exceptions for a couple of authors though and Kierney Scott is one of those authors. I’ve read Cross Your Heart a couple of times as I beta read for Kierney and even after the most recent time the impact of the story was just as intense as the first time.

Kierney has woven a story which is as deeply disturbing as it is enjoyable, ensuring that as a reader you are swept up into Jess’ world of murder and sickness. Not fully recovered from the events of the first book Jess and her team are thrown head first into a case involving murdered children. This case sees them racing against the clock to try and save the next child’s life while Jess yet again becomes front and centre fodder for the murderer.

I love how Kierney weaves things together, this was so well thought out with some wonderful twists. I am a huge fan of Jess, I find the way she deals with her anxiety and stress to be so realistic. I can relate to her in a way I rarely can with characters in books. I feel a real affinity with this character and thoroughly enjoy reading her. I just kinda wish she didn’t have to be put through the grinder so much!

I am a big fan of both Chan and Jamison. Chan is a little cocky but I always get a sense he’s also a bit insecure and uses his cockiness as a cover, he’s a really good detective though and him and Jess bounce off of each other well and this comes over well in a few places during interviews in this book. Jamison is the one the romance reader in me loves, he’s the one I’m rooting for. There are subtle things he says and does that tells me it’s not all over for them…not yet.

Finally, I have to give a big shout out to Agent Claire Ayres who kicks butt in this book…seriously having a character named after you rocks big time! Thanks Kierney!

I’m very grateful to Kierney Scott and Bookouture for the eARC so that I could read and review this book honestly.

Rating

About Kierney Scott

Kierney Scott - Author Image

Originally from California, Kierney Scott lives in Edinburgh, Scotland with her husband and their daughter.

In her spare time she likes to read and invent new recipes. Her stuffed peppers are particularly popular with her family, as are her grain-free chocolate chip cookies. In an effort to convert her family to the joys of pumpkin, she created the Great Pumpkin Challenge. For the ten weeks before Thanksgiving, they tried a new pumpkin recipe every week. Pumpkin arancini and pumpkin queso were a big hit. She has promised her daughter to never again roast pumpkin and call them chips.

She loves hearing from readers. If you would like to get in touch, you can email her at KierneyScott@gmail.com

Author links:
FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/kierney.scott

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/Kierney_S

 

Book & Buy Links

TitleCross Your Heart
Series: Detective Jess Bishop #2
AuthorKierney Scott
Genre: Thriller | Mystery | Mental Health
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: 25 April 2018
Review Format: eBook
Other Formats: Paperback
Pages: 242
Buy: Books2Read (Universal link redirects to your preferred store)

4 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s