#WeekendBlitz: The Forgotten Room by Ann Troup @TroupAnn @HQDigitalUK @NeverlandBT #Review #Giveaway

The Forgotten Room - Ann Troup

Hey Guys, thanks for stopping by for Ann Troup’s weekend blitz for The Forgotten Room courtesy of Neverland Blog Tours, you can catch my review below and the blitz schedule aswell so you know who the other blogs are hosting content and reviews this weekend. There is also a fab giveaway that you won’t want to miss at the end of the post.

Description

Can the past ever be forgotten?

As soon as nurse Maura Lyle sets foot inside the foreboding Essen Grange, she feels shivers ripple down her spine. And the sense of unease only increases when she meets her new patient, Gordon Henderson.

Drawn into the Henderson family’s tangled web of secrets and betrayals, Maura can ignore the danger lurking behind every door no longer. Even the door she has been forbidden from opening…

Essen Grange is a house with dark and cruel intentions. But now that darkness has turned on her, can Maura escape before it’s too late?

The chilling new novel from the bestselling author of The Lost Child and The Silent Girls. Perfect for fans of Erin Kelly, Claire Mackintosh and Tracy Buchanan.

The Forgotten Room - TOur Banner

Review

I’m a big fan of Ann Troup’s work and was thrilled that she had a new novel coming out and I have to say this is by far my favourite of her three novels. From the opening lines I was hooked, pulled in and unsure if I was dealing with a ghost story or something far more sinister.

Maura Lyle is a mental health nurse who after a period of illness has returned to work and been given an agency job working for a private client in, what I guess you would call a manor house. As soon as she arrives at Essen Grange she knows something isn’t right, the place feels wrong. But she’s a nurse and a good one, she has a patient to care for and that’s what she focuses on.

When people start being found dead the intrusion of the police and most notably DS Mike Poole, a blast from Maura’s past who she is not happy to see, become a regular occurrence at the Grange.

I loved that the point of views in this book changed, but were still very easy to follow. We got quite a bit of time with Poole as well as Maura and I particularly liked their dynamic and how it changed as things escalated through the book.

There are a wide range of characters and plenty of people and things to cast suspicion on. With some extremely tense scenes and moments where you are unsure who will make it through the fray this is a fantastic suspense.

As always, Ann Troup has included plenty surrounding mental health and done so wonderfully, integrating it into the story-line in a realistic and terrifying manner.

I thoroughly enjoyed every second of this novel and felt like I was on a roller-coaster with all the twists and turns getting to the end. This was not one I could predict.

Sending huge thanks to Ann Troup, HQ Digital and Neverland Blog Tours for the eARC so that I could read and honestly review this book.

Rating

The Forgotten Room - Tour Schedule

About Ann Troup

The Forgotten Room is Ann’s third book, following on from The Lost Child and The Silent Girls. She lives in Devon near the sea and spends her time either writing or dabbling with art. To see what she’s getting up to next follow on Twitter – @TroupAnn, or Facebook at Ann Troup Author.

Giveaway

Book & Buy Links

TitleThe Forgotten Room
Series: N/A
AuthorAnn Troup
Genre: Suspense | Thriller | Mental Health
Publisher: HQ Digital
Publication Date: 25 October 2017
Review Format: eBook
Other Formats: N/A
Pages: 384
Buy: Amazon UK | Amazon US | Speedy Hen

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “#WeekendBlitz: The Forgotten Room by Ann Troup @TroupAnn @HQDigitalUK @NeverlandBT #Review #Giveaway

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s