#Review: Now You See Me by Kierney Scott @Kierney_S @bookouture

Now You See Me - Kierney Scott

Description

As she saw his face for the first time, she knew he was going to kill her. She just didn’t know when.

When the dismembered body of Lydia Steiner is found washed up in the waters of a blisteringly hot Louisiana swamp, Detective Jess Bishop knows for certain this isn’t the murderer’s first kill.

Three other dismembered bodies have been found, all bearing the same marks. Marks that strike fear into Jess’s heart. They are identical to those from a case she’s spent her entire career trying to forget.

As Jess and her team try to link the victims, another body is discovered and they fear the serial killer is taunting them. They know it’s only a matter of time before he kills again.

As the body count rises, and the hunt goes cold, Jess knows she has to confront her past in order to catch the killer, even if that means making herself the bait…

Now You See Me is a gripping and heart-stopping thriller full of twists and perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter, Robert Bryndza and Lisa Gardner.

Review

I am not known for my thriller reviews, simply because I rarely read them, but I read Kierney Scott and I wasn’t going to miss a new novel by her regardless of the genre.

Jess Bishop is an outstanding character, an excellent Detective with an astounding history she is desperately trying to keep secret. Her no-nonsense approach to her work is something I can respect and I loved how she didn’t take any nonsense from anybody. She does her best not to show emotion, but it’s there bubbling under the surface.

There are a cast of characters around her who just blew my mind and I was completely sold on them, from Jamison her long time Partner to Chan the cocky but lovable member of the team who always has her back, then there is Matt who works for another division but offers Jess help (and the romantic in me particularly likes this one).

Her boss Jeanie is an outstanding character, an older woman who could kick a roomful of butt with a look, and her best friend is psychologist Lindsay who is just one clever cookie. Everyone comes together to chase a seriously bad serial killer who seems to have links to Jess and could be putting her in danger.

I will admit to being completely absorbed and reading this in just a few sittings, given I’m not someone who normally reads thrillers I got completely sucked in and had a million theories, some which were completely fantastical, and ended the book completely shocked and stunned. I love Jess as a character, especially her flaws, and want so much more from her and her friends and colleagues.

A huge thank you to Kierney Scott and Bookouture for the eARC via NetGalley so that I could read and honestly review this book.

Rating

Book & Buy Links

TitleNow You See Me
Series: Detective Jess Bishop #1
Author: Kierney Scott
Genre: Thriller
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: 27 November 2017
Review Format: eBook
Other FormatsN/A
Pages: 318
Buy: Amazon UK | Amazon US

Advertisements

10 thoughts on “#Review: Now You See Me by Kierney Scott @Kierney_S @bookouture

  1. Oooh, I love it when a thriller finds a way to someone’s hand who doesn’t read thrillers on a favorite/daily basis 🙂 They can really blow one’s mind like that… I hadn’t read a thriller in a few years and when I picked one up, I was like- holy cow- this was so good… 🙂
    Have heard great things about this book- glad you liked it as well- I may keep my eye out for it 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I have to say I tend to be one of those people who has a week of nightmares whenever I read a thriller. They really affect me which is why I hardly ever read them. I make special exceptions for certain authors just because I love them! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s