#WeekendBlitz: What Goes Down by Natalie K. Martin @natkmartin @NeverlandBT #Review #Giveaway

What Goes Down - Natalie K. Martin

Hey Guys, thanks for stopping by for Natalie K. Martin’s weekend blitz for What Goes Down courtesy of Neverland Blog Tours, you can catch my review below and the blitz schedule aswell so you know who the other blogs are hosting content and reviews this weekend. There is also a fab giveaway that you won’t want to miss at the end of the post.

Description

WHAT GOES DOWN is an emotional, must-read novel of love, loss and second chances. Set in the present day and late 80’s, WHAT GOES DOWN deals with relationships touched by mental illness, and is perfect for fans of Amanda Prowse and Julie Cohen.

Seph Powell has all she ever wanted: a close family, loving boyfriend and her dream career. A gifted artist with a highly anticipated exhibition just weeks away, her life seems to be perfect. Until a man she’s never met claims to be her real father.

Laurel and Tony Powell are devoted parents. Having worked hard to provide everything for their daughter, they’ve created an enviable, picture-perfect family. Until Laurel’s ex-boyfriend, Nico, comes back into their lives.

In the summer of 1987, Nico stole Laurel’s heart with promises of adventure and excitement. But when he disappeared without trace, he left her as a single, teenaged parent. Now, twenty-five years later, he’s back and keen to meet the daughter he left behind.

But Nico’s sudden reappearance shows that nothing is quite as it first seems. And as long hidden truths are exposed, everything Seph thought she knew about her life begins to unravel.

What Goes Down - Tour Banner

Review

Where do I start with this? I have done little since I finished this book other than think about it and how I was going to write this review. It is a substantially full novel, a lot happens, there is a full cast of characters each with their own nuances, issues, and contribution to the over-arching storyline.

As a summary Seph, a woman in her mid-twenties feels her world come crashing down around her ears when she receives an email from a man named Nico, telling her he is her biological Father and he wants to meet her. She never knew the man she calls Dad wasn’t her biological Father and so begins a tale of two women, Seph as she tries to unravel her life and Laurel, her Mother and how we end up in this position in the first place.

Natalie K. Martin could have settled with weaving a complicated storyline of young love, a neglectful Father and a complicated mess for a young woman to unravel. But she added an element of mental health with members of the family having Bipolar. Regular readers of the blog will know I have Bipolar so am maybe overly critical when I read characters in books who have it. Natalie K. Martin has not only nailed what living with undiagnosed Bipolar is like, but how people react to someone with it, both before and after. Things aren’t always nice and fluffy, people don’t always understand, and sometimes people, especially people you may have hurt, are downright nasty about the illness. Natalie K. Martin has managed to capture this in a way that doesn’t come across as unnatural, but to me felt very real.

I loved this book in a way that is very hard to describe, I felt connected to the characters and loved Nico and Seph with a passion that is hard to put into words. I really hope you all go and pick this book up because it deserves to be read by as many people as possible.

Sending huge thanks to Natalie K. Martin, and Neverland Blog Tours for the eARC so that I could read and honestly review this book.

Rating

What Goes Down - Tour Schedule

About Natalie K. Martin

Natalie K. Martin - Author Image

In 2014, Sheffield born Natalie K. Martin left her corporate job in London to experience the world – heading off on travels that took her as far as Cambodia, India and Thailand, and changed her outlook on life for good.  Whilst in India, she self-published her debut novel, Together Apart, which became a No.1 bestseller on the Amazon charts. Her second novel, Love You Better, became a bestseller on release in October 2015.

Never one to shy away from tough subjects, Natalie’s books tackle issues that are relevant and relatable to the everyday woman, and all feature true-to-life characters – people who could easily be your mum, sister, or best friend. This is what she calls: Contemporary Fiction with Love. Natalie’s books have been featured in The Daily Mail, Woman’s Own, Pride Magazine and Female First. She has been interviewed on radio including BBC Radio Sheffield and Manx Radio, and has also written articles for Kindred Spirit Magazine, Do What You Love and Your Wellness Magazine.

A trained Yoga Teacher with a love of surfing, Natalie’s backpack is now taking a short but well-earned rest. These days, she can be found in the historical city of Ulm in Southern Germany, where she’s settled with the charming Bavarian man who swept her off her feet in India. Natalie is represented by Jon Elek at United Agents.

twitter  

Giveaway

UK Only – 1 winner

Prizes: £10 Amazon giftcard, a Stag necklace and a copy of the book

Click Here to enter

Book & Buy Links

TitleWhat Goes Down
Series: N/A
AuthorNatalie K. Martin
Genre: Contemporary Fiction | Mental Health
Publisher: N/A
Publication Date: 28 September 2017
Review Format: eBook
Other Formats: N/A
Pages: 282
Buy: Amazon UK | Amazon US

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “#WeekendBlitz: What Goes Down by Natalie K. Martin @natkmartin @NeverlandBT #Review #Giveaway

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s