Blog Tour: Guest Post: The Dark Vampire by Kate Baxter

The Dark Vampire - Kate Baxter

Welcome to BrizzleLass Books for today’s stop on The Dark Vampire Blog Tour. There is a guest post from Kate Baxter below, I hope you enjoy it and pick up the book for yourself.

Description:
The grave threat to the tortured race of vampires is greater than ever in Kate Baxter’s THE DARK VAMPIRE. An unforgettable, intensely emotional, and hot series for fans of J.R. Ward, Nalini Singh, Lara Adrian and Larissa Ione.

Centuries ago, the vampire race was almost destroyed. Now, salvation rests upon one – the last true vampire.

For centuries, Jenner has been plagued by the shadows of his past. Now, a newly-turned vampire, he stalks the night like a wild predator, unable to satisfy his insatiable desires. Until a beautiful vampire sets his soul on fire…

Bria is pure innocence, hidden her whole life from a merciless enemy determined to hunt her down. When things become perilous, safety comes in the form of a fearsome bodyguard – Jenner.

One fateful night, Bria is saved by her vampire protector and a blazing connection is sparked. But surrendering to the powerful call of passion means breaking free from the shackles of their pasts. And with the war against the slayers more savage than ever, they must fight to survive. For the vampire race depends on it.

Addicted to the wild world of the Last True Vampire? Don’t miss the earlier books in the series,The Last True Vampire and The Warrior Vampire.

The Dark Vampire - Tour Banner

Villains – Kings of Swagger by Kate Baxter

I’m a total action movie junkie. And I’m head-over-heels crazy for superhero movies. And one of my all-time favorite antagonists is Tom Hiddleston as Loki. He played the role of the charming bad guy so well! He took arrogance to a new level and he ROCKED the super villain swagger. That’s what I love about villains: They’ve got swagger.

It’s not that I don’t think heroes are arrogant to some degree as well. If you could fly, shoot laser beams from your eyes, had super speed…strength…healing… you’d be pretty damned confident too. But villains aren’t just confident. They’re fanatical. How does that translate to arrogance? It’s their faith that they’ll achieve their goals. They don’t just think they’ll be successful. They know it. Writers want their readers to relate to the hero of the story. And to make the hero relatable, we have to showcase their emotional side and we have to give them some kind of weakness. Be it a love interest, their undying compassion for the human race, adoptive parents, whatever. Or maybe the writer will simply plant a seed of doubt in the hero’s mind.

The villain has emotions too, but in order to get to his end goal, he’s forced to check his emotions at the door. The truly effective villain isn’t swayed by compassion or love. My favorite villains are the ones who’ve been hurt somehow. They’ve experienced the ultimate betrayal. Whereas most characters would deal with their hurt and learn to move past it, the villain refuses to heal. He doesn’t want to feel better. He wants revenge, plain and simple. You hurt me, well, I’m gonna hurt you right back, only a million times worse! He doesn’t care who he mows down in his quest, be it man, woman, child, or beloved pet. A great villain has been driven to this point by his fanaticism. Nothing and no one will stand in his way. Effective villains own their scenes. They draw your undivided attention. His tunnel vision allows him to see only his goal and the one thing that stands in his way. Namely, the hero. But does the villain worry about that teeny, tiny obstacle? No way. Because his faith—his fanaticism—drives him.

So, at this point, it seems like nothing will deter the villain. He has no emotions, no connections to anything but his end goal. He doesn’t care who he kills or what he destroys in order to get what he wants. The villain doesn’t harbor the warm, squishy sentimentalities that our hero does. He walks the walk and talks the talk. He’s got the villain swagger down. He’s unstoppable…or at least, he believes he’s unstoppable. Just as the hero has a weakness, so must the villain. And at its core, his weakness comes from that exact same place that makes me love him so much. He doesn’t plan for defeat because defeat isn’t an option. No way. No how. Not gonna happen. And at that moment, when his arrogance has peaked, is when the villain falls. Unfortunately, swagger can only get you so far. 😉

 

The Dark Vampire - Author ImageAbout Kate Baxter:
Kate Baxter is a die-hard romantic with a thing for Shakespeare. She lives in the great northwest where she hides away to write about all things fanged, furry and undead.

Author Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter

 

Title: The Dark Vampire
Series: Last True Vampire #3
Author: Kate Baxter
Genre: Paranormal, Romance
Publisher: Headline Eternal
Publication Date: 3 May 2016
Review Format: N/A
Other Formats: eBook | Paperback
Pages: 414
Buy: Amazon | Nook | iBook

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s