Review: Second Chance Summer by Jill Shalvis

Second Chance Summer - Jill Shalvis

Description:
Fans of Jill Mansell, Debbie Macomber, Nora Roberts and Marie Force will fall head over heels for the new Cedar Ridge series from New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis, featuring her trademark gift for humour, warmth and romance.

What do you do when you run into the man who broke your heart?

Lily’s been back in Cedar Ridge for less than ten minutes when she bumps into Aidan, the former love of her life. So much for sneaking back into town unnoticed. And thanks to frizzy hair and armfuls of junk food, she’s turning his head for all the wrong reasons.

No one knows why Lily is home after ten years, and she’s determined to stay no longer than the summer. But Cedar Ridge and Aidan have other ideas. As they set about persuading Lily to give them a second chance, she finds herself falling under the spell of the Colorado mountains … and the one man she could never forget.

Want more warm, funny romance? Visit spellbinding Lucky Harbor or experience some Animal Magnetism in Sunshine, Idaho in Jill’s other unforgettable series.

Review:
So I’ve spent ages putting off reading this book, and I will be completely honest here the cover just wasn’t doing it for me. I can normally get past the cover, even if it doesn’t appeal to me, and just see what is between the pages. With this book though I just kept getting stuck at the real ‘Mumsie’ feel of the cover.

When I finally cracked the spine I was really surprised to find a novel which was about a couple younger than I am! I don’t think even the description properly portrayed this and I read this book really quickly.

Written from a dual-perspective we see the whole journey from both characters point of view. Sometimes this can be hard to follow but the transitions were smooth within this novel. Starting with Aidan a firefighter and co-owner of the Cedar Ridge resort in the Colorado mountains with his family. He’s got a reputation for being a bit of a playboy around town but for him this is only because he’s protecting his heart after Lily up and left town after her sister and fathers deaths ten years ago leaving him devastated.

Lily has now just come back to town after a mistake left her unable to get a job anywhere else. The first person she runs into is Aidan and straight away it’s clear there is unfinished business.

What I liked about this was the humour and that nothing felt forced, I sometimes find with romance that things can feel forced, we all know what the outcome will be with these novels but it’s nice when the writing seems to naturally get to the conclusion without a big shove! I seemed to spend a lot of time laughing out loud with this novel which I hadn’t expected and having read a few really heavy books recently this light read was absolutely what I needed!

I’m so glad I finally dove into this book, I have another of Jill’s books on my shelf awaiting review and I definitely won’t wait so long to get to it!

A huge thanks to Jill Shalvis and Headline Eternal for the ARC via BookBridgr so that I could read and honestly review this book.

Rating: 4 of 5 Stars

TitleSecond Chance Summer
Series: Cedar Ridge
Author: Jill Shalvis
Genre: Romance, Humour, Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Headline Eternal
Publication Date: 30 July 2015
Review Format: Paperback
Other Formats: eBook
Pages: 368
Buy: Amazon Nook iBook

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Review: Second Chance Summer by Jill Shalvis

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s