Review: The Silent Girls by Ann Troup

The Silent Girls - Ann Troup

Description:
What if everything you knew was a lie… This house has a past that won’t stay hidden, and it is time for the dead to speak.

Returning to Number 17, Coronation Square, Edie is shocked to find the place she remembers from childhood reeks of mould and decay. After her aunt Dolly’s death Edie must clear out the home on a street known for five vicious murders many years ago, but under the dirt and grime of years of neglect lurk dangerous truths.

For in this dark house there is misery, sin and dark secrets that can no longer stay hidden. The truth must come out.

Finding herself dragged back into the horrific murders of the past, Edie must find out what really happened all those years ago. But as Edie uncovers the history of the family she had all but forgotten, she begins to wonder if sometimes it isn’t best to leave them buried.

From the bestselling author of The Lost Child don’t miss The Silent Girls

An unforgettable and addictive story, perfect for fans of Lesley Thomson, Diane Chamberlain and Tracy Buchanan.

Review:
Ann Troup’s debut novel, The Lost Child, was one of my standout favourite novels from last year. It stuck with me like very few others have, so being given the opportunity to read an advance copy of this novel was something I leapt at.

We are introduced to Edie in The Silent Girls, she is returning to a house she hasn’t been to for thirty years, to attend the funeral of her Aunt Dolly, and to clean up the house to be sold. The house is essentially a horder’s paradise full of dust and grime and so much tat that she doesn’t know where to begin, and take it from someone who has done a job like this there is nothing remotely enjoyable about it, so when she starts unearthing mysteries about gruesome murders that happened on the street so many years ago, the task at hand starts to get harder, stranger, more unbelievable, and quite honestly dangerous.

She meets Sophie, a young, homeless, girl who used to get help from Dolly occasionally who becomes something of a side-kick. Sophie is stweet-smart but curious and this can get her into trouble.

There is the cute guy from next door who Edie had a little crush on as a little girl, Sam, who is ever so willing to jump in and help. Then there is Matt, lurking in corners, wanting to prove his father was innocent of the murders he hung for all those years ago.

As the story unfolds, and takes some unexpected twists we are taken on a journey from present to past and back again. This plot winds in so many directions it is amazing that Ann Troup managed to keep track of who was doing what, when, and where!

There were moments I laughed out loud because the language used was so real and exactly how you would expect people in these situations to speak and think. The tension was built exceptionally well and there were moments which were nail biting.

This book will completely sweep you away with the drama, intelligence, mystery, and suspense. It is beautifully written dark yet hopeful fiction.

Thank you to Ann Troup and Carina UK for the ARC via NetGalley so that I could review this book.

Rating: 5 of 5 Stars

TitleThe Silent Girls
Series: N/A
Author: Ann Troup
Genre: Mystery
Publisher: Carina UK
Publication Date: 18 February 2016
Review Format: eBook
Other Formats:
Pages: 276
Buy: Amazon | Nook | iBook

Advertisements

One thought on “Review: The Silent Girls by Ann Troup

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s